About Spain

  • 3 years ago
  • Info
  • 0

Spain is one of the largest European countries, a member of EU, UNO and NATO. It is a country with exciting history and amazing rich culture. It is worldwide famous for its posh resorts. Official name: the Kingdom of Spain. Capital city: Madrid. National holiday: Hispanic Day (it is annually celebrated on the 12th of October). Spain the member of Schengen Area and Euro zone.

Geographical location Spain is located in the South-West of Europe. It occupies almost the entire Iberian Peninsula, with Balearic (Islas Baleares) and Pityusic Islands (Islas Pitiusas)  in the Mediterranean Sea and the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean. Spain borders Portugal to the West, British territory of Gibraltar to the South, France and Andorra to the North and Morocco in North Africa (Ceuta, Melilla, and Peñón de Vélez de la Gomera). Spain is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean on the North-West and the Mediterranean Sea on the South-East.

Area Spain occupies the territory of 504,782 square kilometers (including the cities of Ceuta and Melilla), it is the fourth largest country in Europe.

Population The population of Spain is about 46 million people, about 8% of them are immigrants. All of them are recognized as one nation with the basis formed by indigenous population, which consists of Castilians, Catalans, Basques, Valencians, Andalusians and Galicians.

Language The official language of Spain is Spanish. Spanish has four dialects: Castilian (traditional Spanish), which is spoken throughout the whole country, Catalan, Basque and Gallic that are spoken in some regions of Spain.

The Currency Starting from 2002 the currency of Spain is Euro. 1 Euro is divided into 100 cents. Prior to 2002 the national currency of Spain was Peseta. 1 Peseto was equal to 100 centimos.

Administrative division
The main administrative and territorial unit of Spain is the autonomous community or region, there are 17 of them in Spain. They are composed of 50 provinces and two autonomous cities – Ceuta and Melilla.

Regions of Spain
Andalusia, Aragon, Asturias, Balearic Islands, Valencian Community, Galicia, the Canary Islands, Cantabria, Castile-La Mancha, Castile and Leon, Catalonia, La Rioja, Madrid, Murcia region, Navarre, Basque Country, Extremadura.

There are three types of climate in Spain. In the South and on the coast of the Mediterranean Sea there is Mediterranean climate with mild winters and hot summers. In the North-West the climate is moderately maritime, with heavy rainfall and mild temperatures throughout the year. And the inner regions of the country have continental climate with cold winters and warm summers. Overall, Spain has a Mediterranean subtropical climate.

The average height of the surface in Spain is 650 meters above sea level. Spain is one of the most mountainous countries in Europe.Wide variety of climatic conditions in Spain defines diversity of flora and fauna.

Join The Discussion

Compare listings